齐酒家庭

下一个

下一个

1901-1911

Franzias 快速开始最终达到八个孩子的大家庭. 他们的第一个 ch

下一个

下一个

上一页

上一页

1850-1903

在 1850, 意大利半岛是属于罗马天主教会的各国大杂烩, o

上一页

上一页

在 1850, 意大利半岛是属于罗马天主教会的各国大杂烩, 奥地利帝国的省份的, 和几个独立的国家. 该地区的利古里亚, 主要城市的 Génova [热那亚], 在那段时间, 是撒丁王国的一部分, 其首都是都灵, 到北部的利古里亚在皮埃蒙特.

从 1852 直到他的死亡在 1861, 撒丁岛的老谋深算的政治家, 计数卡米洛 · 加富尔, 他的国家从事一系列的联盟和战争, 历时直到 1871, 要统一朝鲜半岛的现代意大利国家状态下国王维克托 · 伊曼纽尔二世的撒丁岛的执政房子的萨沃伊. 加富尔的死亡的时候, 统一过程有它自己的腿和军事英雄的朱塞佩 · 加里波第和他的红衫军军队形式.

1901 意大利; 站在 l-r: 乔瓦尼 · 巴蒂斯塔齐; Catterina Bonfiglio 齐; 全智贤齐; 卡米拉齐; 坐: 特蕾莎修女齐; 和弗朗切斯科齐. 这些都是朱塞佩的父母和兄弟姐妹. 几乎每个意大利的家庭有至少维持生计的作物提供粮食和葡萄园种植葡萄为家庭的酒. 大城市以外的大多数意大利人做他们自己的酒. 这些技能将十分有助于朱塞佩的未来的家庭. 他可能在 Vado 利古里亚教堂接受洗礼.

4 月 1893, 朱塞佩 · 二十两年岁加入北部意大利人移民到美洲的洪水. Génova 在他登上德皇威廉二世, 北德国船, 这被走向美国. 朱塞佩 · 列出自己作为劳动者对船舶的载货清单. 这艘船已经建成 1889 伏尔甘造船公司, 什切青的, 那时德国博美犬港口城市, 现在波兰的一部分. 它建成的钢; 它的长度是 460 双脚. 船体被漆成白色.

与朱塞佩 · 旅行是七十两年岁弗朗切斯科卡拉拉, 也从 Vado 利古里亚, 谁是船舶清单上列出作为一个农民 [关于出生 1821]. 弗朗切斯科是朱塞佩 · 可能未来的祖父 ─ ─. 这两人列为其最终目的地旧金山. 从热那亚的半个月航程结束在埃利斯岛. 德皇威廉二世通过新的自由女神像在纽约港 [这是七岁。] 到达了埃利斯岛 5 日 9, 1893.

埃利斯岛移民车厂,第三类船舶乘客抵达纽约港的加工中心. [其船上的移民官员处理宗最第一、 二级的乘客。] 新来港定居人士被从其跨大西洋船只运往埃利斯岛, 在那里他们上岸和进行指导组到大会堂注册地区, 一间房 200 英尺长和 100 英尺宽. 那里,他们受到政府官员确定土地的资格的人的质疑.

在完成注册过程, 新来的人被领进房间,在那里,他们由医生的检验. 处理是非常务实 — — 被非人性化点. 处理一般需要三至五个小时. 三天是平常检疫时间. 移民共发出由虱子经常出没的被子要盖自己他们睡着的时候. 两名男子将已经能够购买铁路车票,旧金山对埃利斯岛. 接着,他们开始他们伟大的横贯大陆旅行穿越美国, 在艾奇逊上行驶, 托皮卡, 和 Santa Fe 铁路到洛杉矶,然后飞往旧金山北.

抵达三藩市, 朱塞佩 · 为 50 美分一天找到工作在卡车花园. 它是辛苦的为穷人支付很多. 他可能有住与弗朗切斯科卡拉拉. 第二年, 1894, 朱塞佩 · 离开旧金山, 从旧金山到斯托克顿圣华河镇乘汽船. 它躺在旧金山加利福尼亚州大中央山谷八十英里. 他那里寻找工作, 从一个意大利农场去另一个. 当他抵达的贾科莫 · 桑吉内蒂农场弥尔顿路, 他找到了工作,呆了一段时间. 桑吉内蒂来到加利福尼亚淘金热期间的早期华埠. 两个男人会有终身的友谊.

在 1897 朱塞佩 · 北部斯托克顿在什么现在是公路交界处的租用土地上开始自己的卡车农场 99 和威尔逊的方法. 在那之后他短的距离北部地区迁入的现在叫"莫娜达区"。他在这里租到躺在目前公路交叉口附近的农场土地 99 福皮亚诺车道上什么现在是索拉里巷.

在 1900 朱塞佩 ·, 现在有保存一些钱, 送到意大利求婚的人在 Vado 利古里亚的一封信. 一封信, 但它不是从人他就递上婚姻的女人; 它是从特蕾莎修女卡拉拉. 特蕾莎修女说,她的朋友没有选择接受他的建议, 但她, 特蕾莎修女, 愿意成为他的妻子,如果他想要. 很多男性意大利移民获得在类似的妻子, 非浪漫时尚. 特蕾莎修女曾想要前往加利福尼亚的原因. 她的父亲和叔叔已经在那儿, 住在旧金山. 她的父亲是忙于赚钱,使他的家人和他一起. 特蕾莎修女有可能知道之前他离开意大利的朱塞佩 · 和听说他在她父亲的来信.

朱塞佩 · 特蕾莎修女的接受和他们婚姻协议上盖章. 朱塞佩的准新娘运出国外倒台 Genova, 由 Nordeutscher · 劳埃德 · 布里曼 433' x 46' 脚船, 德国. 这艘船已经构建教育署在 1882 在格拉斯哥, 苏格兰. 特蕾莎修女抵达埃利斯岛 6 月 20, 1900, 活牛般的待遇,移民那里接受. 经过三天的通常检疫, 她登上了开往旧金山的火车. 同时, 她的未婚夫旅行做打算到旧金山去见特蕾莎修女在铁路车站. 他到达后, 朱塞佩 · 在北滩区可能发现一个旅馆房间. 称为"小意大利,"它毗邻城市的臭名远扬的巴巴里海岸, 臭名昭著的其赌博, 卖淫, 和犯罪. 该地区了持久臭名昭著的 1936 电影, 三藩市, 主演克拉克 · 盖博, 珍妮特 · 麦克唐纳, 和斯宾塞屈塞.

关于 4 7 月, 1900, 特蕾莎修女被乘火车在旧金山. 朱塞佩 ·, 与特蕾莎修女的父亲, 安东尼奥 · 卡拉拉, 在那儿迎接她. 没有时间浪费, 朱塞佩 · 带特蕾莎修女到 Sts 教堂的教区牧师. 彼得和保罗和试图让牧师, 冯. B. C. Redahan, 马上嫁给他,他的未婚妻. 不管是什么原因, 可能七月四日庆祝活动, 牧师也不嫁给他们直到 7 月 7. 这就要求朱塞佩 · 来支付他的酒店费用三天, 其中打乱节俭并不富裕的朱塞佩 ·. 在婚礼上, 目击者特蕾莎修女的父亲, 安东尼奥 · 卡拉拉, 和 Adelaida Piuma [abt 生根粉. 1869-1930], 住在旧金山的安东尼奥一嫂. Adelaida 被嫁给了安东尼奥的弟弟弗朗切斯科卡拉拉年轻 [abt.1863-1940 年]. Piumas 是从 San Genesio, 弥补的利古里亚 Vado 社区的小村庄之一. 年轻的弗朗西斯科 · 家庭被埋葬在意大利公墓在科尔马, 圣马刁县, 加利福尼亚州, 只是南部的旧金山.

安东尼奥 · 卡拉拉来到美国. 1893, 埃利斯岛 4 月抵达 17 对 La 香槟, 从法国的勒阿弗尔港口航行. 他是数字 0697 对船舶的载货清单的乘客. 他直接前往三藩市. 这是只有几个星期在朱塞佩 · 齐和弗朗切斯科卡拉拉长辈都离开之前. 看来极有可能七十两年岁弗朗切斯科卡拉拉的安东尼奥和他的兄弟的父亲, 年轻的弗朗切斯科.

在朱塞佩的表妹的回忆录, 美国加利福尼亚州南部的乔瓦尼 Piuma, 安东尼奥 · 卡拉拉被提到的 11 月,居住在旧金山 1894. 安东尼奥 · 拿来访 Piuma 到 Sansome 街蔬菜市场, 意大利农民甩了他们蔬菜到木制的人行道上,卖他们从那里. Piuma 惊讶,听到在市场的意大利热那亚方言的优势. 他说︰ 感觉就好像他是在意大利. 蔬菜供应商往往不会去买昂贵的土地附近城市; 他们急于挣钱,尽快回到意大利.

特蕾莎修女出生 5 月 30, 1879, 萨沃纳省. 她是安东尼奥 · 卡拉拉的女儿 [1858-1938] 和安吉丽娜 Peluffo [abt 生根粉. 1858-之前 1888]. 特蕾莎修女有两个年轻同父异母的姐妹, 玛丽亚 · 卡拉拉 [1888-1970], 安吉丽娜 · 卡拉拉, [关于 1891年-1920年]. 他们是她的父亲和继母的孩子, A. Colomba, 未知的姓氏. 特蕾莎修女的祖父母都所向披靡 Peluffo [abt 生根粉. 1815-1890] 和安吉丽娜 Pessano [abt.1820-?]. 叔叔对特蕾莎修女, 弗朗切斯科 Pessano Peluffo, 出生 1854, 8 日的已婚的玛丽亚 Rebagliatti 14, 1881, 在蒙得维的亚, 乌拉圭. 意大利移民家庭往往以这种方式划分. 有些人选择住在美国, 而其他人移居阿根廷, 乌拉圭, 和巴西南部. 约一半的人口在阿根廷和乌拉圭有意大利的根源,通过一个祖先或另一个. 在巴西大约 10%的人口有意大利血统.

七个月后他的女儿特蕾莎修女抵达美国嫁给朱塞佩 · 齐, 安东尼奥的家里的其他人到达了. 埃利斯岛记录显示 Colomba 卡拉拉, 年龄 32 年, 11 几个月 [出生 3 月 1868], 驻地的 Vado, 阿基 Genova 离开. 她和她的女儿玛丽亚, 11, 和安吉利娜, 9, 埃利斯岛二月抵达 23, 1901. Colomba 是新抵达加利福尼亚州时她和安东尼奥担任第一个齐孩子的教父教母.

The Franzia Wine Family

Next

next

1901-1911

The Franzias quickly started the large family that eventually reached eight children. Their first ch

next

Next

prev

Previous

1850-1903

In 1850, the Italian Peninsula was a hodge-podge of states belonging to the Roman Catholic Church, o

prev

prev

In 1850, the Italian Peninsula was a hodge-podge of states belonging to the Roman Catholic Church, of provinces of the Austrian Empire, and of several independent states. The region of Liguria, of which the major city is Génova [Genoa], at that time, was part of the Kingdom of Sardinia, whose capital city was Torino, to the north of Liguria in Piemonte.

From 1852 until his death in 1861, Sardinia’s wily statesman, Count Camillo Cavour, engaged his country in a series of alliances and wars, which lasted until 1871, to unify the peninsula into the modern nation state of Italy under King Victor Emmanuel II of Sardinia’s reigning House of Savoy. By the time of Cavour’s death, the unification process had legs of its own and military heroes in the form of Giuseppe Garibaldi and his red-shirted army.

1901 Italy; Standing l-r: Giovanni Battista Franzia; Catterina Bonfiglio Franzia; Gianna Franzia; Camilla Franzia; Seated: Teresa Franzia; and Francesco Franzia. These are Giuseppe’s parents and siblings. Almost every Italian family had at least subsistence crops to provide food and a vineyard to grow grapes for the family’s wine. Most Italians outside the large cities made their own wine. These skills would serve Giuseppe’s future family well. He was probably baptized at the church in Vado Ligure.

In April of 1893, twenty-two-year-old Giuseppe joined the flood of northern Italians emigrating to the Americas. At Génova he boarded the Kaiser Wilhelm II, a North German ship, which was headed for the United States. Giuseppe listed himself as a laborer on the ship’s manifest. The ship had been built in 1889 by the Vulcan Ship-building Company, of Stettin, a then-German Pomeranian port city, now part of Poland. It was constructed of steel; its length was 460 feet. The hull was painted white.

Traveling with Giuseppe was seventy-two-year-old Francesco Carrara, also from Vado Ligure, who was listed on the ship manifest as a farmer [born about 1821]. Francesco was likely Giuseppe’s future grandfather-in-law. Both men listed San Francisco as their final destination. The month-and-a-half voyage from Genova ended at Ellis Island. The Kaiser Wilhelm II passed the new Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor [It was seven years old.] and arrived at Ellis Island on May 9, 1893.

The Ellis Island immigration depot was a processing center for third-class ship passengers arriving in New York Harbor. [Most first and second-class passengers were processed by immigration officials on board their ships.] The new arrivals were ferried from their trans-Atlantic vessels to Ellis Island, where they disembarked and were guided in groups into registration areas in the Great Hall, a room 200 feet long and 100 feet wide. There they were questioned by government officials who determined their eligibility to land.

Upon completing the registration process, newcomers were ushered into rooms where they were examined by doctors. The processing was extremely businesslike–to the point of being dehumanizing. Processing typically took between three and five hours. Three days was the usual quarantine time. The immigrants were issued often-lice-infested blankets to cover themselves as they slept. The two men would have been able to purchase their railroad tickets for San Francisco right on Ellis Island. They then began their great transcontinental trip across the United States, traveling on the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railroad to Los Angeles and then north to San Francisco.

Arriving in San Francisco, Giuseppe found work at a truck garden for fifty cents a day. It was a lot of hard work for poor pay. He may have roomed with Francesco Carrara. The following year, 1894, Giuseppe left San Francisco, traveling by steamboat from San Francisco to the San Joaquin River town of Stockton. It lay eighty miles east of San Francisco in California’s great Central Valley. There he looked for work, going from one Italian farm to another. When he arrived at the farm of Giacomo Sanguinetti on Milton Road, he found work and stayed for some time. Sanguinetti had come to California in the early 1850’s during the gold rush. The two men would have a life-long friendship.

In 1897 Giuseppe started his own truck farm on rented land north of Stockton at what is now the junction of Highway 99 and Wilson Way. After that he moved a short distance north to the area now called “The Morada District.” Here he rented land to farm that lay near the present intersection of Highway 99 and Foppiano Lane on what is now Solari Lane.

In 1900 Giuseppe, now having some money saved, sent a letter to Italy proposing marriage to someone in Vado Ligure. A letter arrived, but it was not from the woman to whom he had proffered marriage; it was from Teresa Carrara. Teresa said that her friend did not choose to accept his proposal, but that she, Teresa, was willing to become his wife if he would like. Many of the Italian immigrant men acquired wives in a similar, non-romantic fashion. Teresa had reasons for wanting to travel to California. Her father and uncle were already there, living in San Francisco. Her father was busy earning money to bring his family to join him. Teresa had likely known Giuseppe before he left Italy and heard about him in her father’s letters.

Giuseppe accepted Teresa’s offer and their marriage pact was sealed. Giuseppe’s bride-to-be shipped out of Genova aboard the Werra, a 433’ x 46’ foot ship owned by Nordeutscher Lloyd of Bremen, Germany. The ship had been construct-ed in 1882 at Glasgow, Scotland. Teresa arrived at Ellis Island June 20, 1900, and survived the cattle-like treatment the immigrants received there. After three days of the usual quarantine, she boarded a train bound for San Francisco. Meanwhile, her betrothed made plans to travel to San Francisco to meet Teresa at the railroad station. After he arrived, Giuseppe probably found a hotel room in the North Beach area. Known as “Little Italy,” it bordered the city’s notorious Barbary Coast, infamous for its gambling, prostitution, and crime. The area was made lastingly infamous in the 1936 film, San Francisco, starring Clark Gable, Jeanette MacDonald, and Spencer Tracy.

On 4 July, 1900, Teresa arrived by train in San Francisco. Giuseppe, with Teresa’s father, Antonio Carrara, was there to meet her. Wasting no time, Giuseppe took Teresa to the rectory of the Church of Sts. Peter and Paul and tried to get the priest, Rev. B. C. Redahan, to marry him and his fiancé immediately. For whatever reason, possibly Fourth of July festivities, the priest would not marry them until July 7. This required Giuseppe to pay for his hotel expenses for three days, which upset the thrifty and not-wealthy Giuseppe. At the wedding, the witnesses were Teresa’s father, Antonio Carrara, and Adelaida Piuma [abt. 1869-1930], a sister-in-law of Antonio who lived in San Francisco. Adelaida was married to Antonio’s brother Francesco Carrara the younger [abt.1863-1940]. The Piumas were from San Genesio, one of the small villages making up the community of Vado Ligure. The younger Francesco’s family is buried at the Italian Cemetery at Colma, San Mateo County, California, just south of San Francisco.

Antonio Carrara had come to the United States in 1893, arriving at Ellis Island April 17 on the La Champagne, having sailed from the French port of Havre. He was number 0697 on the ship’s manifest of passengers. He traveled directly to San Francisco. This was only a few weeks before Giuseppe Franzia and Francesco Carrara the elder were to depart. It appears highly likely that the seventy-two-year-old Francesco Carrara was the father of Antonio and his brother, the younger Francesco.

In the memoirs of Giuseppe’s cousin, Giovanni Piuma of southern California, Antonio Carrara is mentioned as living in San Francisco in November of 1894. Antonio took the visiting Piuma to the vegetable market on Sansome Street, where the Italian farmers dumped their vegetables onto the wooden sidewalk and sold them from there. Piuma was amazed at the preponderance of the Genovese dialect of Italian heard at the market. He said it felt as if he were in Italy. The vegetable vendors tended not to buy the expensive land near the city; they were anxious to earn money to return to Italy as soon as possible.

Teresa had been born May 30, 1879, in Savona Province. She was the daughter of Antonio Carrara [1858-1938] and Angelina Peluffo [abt. 1858-before 1888]. Teresa had two younger half-sisters, Maria Carrara [1888-1970], and Angelina Carrara, [about 1891-1920’s]. They were the children of her father and her step-mother, A. Colomba, surname unknown. Teresa’s maternal grandparents were Stéfano Peluffo [abt. 1815-1890] and Angelina Pessano [abt.1820-?]. An uncle to Teresa, Francesco Pessano Peluffo, born 1854, married Maria Rebagliatti on August 14, 1881, in Montivideo, Uruguay. Emigrant Italian families were often divided in this way. Some chose to live in the United States, while others emigrated to Argentina, Uruguay, and southern Brazil. About half of the population in Argentina and Uruguay have Italian roots through one ancestor or another. In Brazil about ten percent of the population have Italian roots.

Seven months after his daughter Teresa arrived in the United States to marry Giuseppe Franzia, the rest of Antonio’s family arrived. Ellis Island records show Colomba Carrara, age 32 years, 11 months [born March 1868], resident of Vado, departed from Genova on the Archimede. She and her daughters Maria, 11, and Angelina, 9, arrived at Ellis Island February 23, 1901. Colomba was newly arrived in California when she and Antonio served as godparents for the first Franzia child.