齐酒家庭

下一个

下一个

1970-1973

虽然齐兄弟时代的有限的教育取得了显著的成绩, the Great Dep

下一个

下一个

上一页

上一页

1936-1960

以丰富他们的加烈葡萄酒的酒精含量, the Franzias installed a distillery in their

上一页

上一页

  • Franzia Brothers

在 1960 年中期期间, 齐葡萄字段, 欧内斯特和胡利奥 · 盖洛, 被包围下塞萨尔查韦斯联合农场工人. 查韦斯策划国家抵制葡萄消极地影响美国的葡萄酒业, 但 Franzias 幸存下来长时间的围困. 在 1964 齐兄弟开始做香槟. 在一些点他们加入苦艾酒了他们的生产. 通过 1968, 本公司是在美国葡萄酒六大生产者. 在 1970 兄弟俩人开始白兰地生产以及.

在酒厂工作的齐孙子几个. 查尔斯 · 齐, 弗兰克的儿子, 负责车队和交付; 他还在仓库中的工作. 他的哥哥弗兰克, Jr。, 一段时间,谁参加了加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校, 在销售部工作; 他主持品酒室. 路易斯 · 齐, 路易的儿子, 被装瓶部主管. 他的弟弟, 欧内斯特 · 齐, 专心致志的做白兰地; 他没有工作很长时间在酿酒厂. 约翰的儿子, 约翰 ·, Jr。, 加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校毕业的人, 在葡萄酒酿造中开始工作 1960. 约瑟夫 · S. 齐和他的兄弟, 弗雷德 T. 齐, 约瑟夫 · J 的儿子. 齐和巴拉预备学校和圣塔克拉拉大学的毕业生, 在销售工作, 弗雷德最终管理所有的销售. 路易齐女婿, 乔 Reichsmuth, 嫁给多萝西齐, 在齐兄弟在店里工作; 乔会稍后为年轻 Franzias 野马酒公司工作.

由 10 月的 1969, 公司拥有 1,500 英亩的酿酒葡萄和就业之间 100 和 200 墨西哥国民在葡萄园中的布拉塞罗程序下. 从他们的葡萄园吨位生产只占六分之一的家庭每年加工成酒的葡萄. 他们自己的葡萄园组成的帕洛米诺, 汤普森无籽, 歌海娜, 法术, 与佳丽葡萄. Franzias 分布式他们自己与他们的船队的葡萄酒 12 卡车. 他们雇用 50 所有年在酿酒厂和达人 75 人们在一年的繁忙时间. 他们作 16 万加仑的酒每年末尾. 扩大的酒厂建设有存储容量 3,000,000 加仑. 在 1969 公司建会主办的许多活动品酒室.

酒厂试图积极参与的公民和社会生活的 San Joaquin 县. 约瑟夫 · S. 齐, 后在美国服役. 海军陆战队. 在越南, 领导一个移动的品酒单位工作作为水上游览此类事件; 农业教师"女士之夜,"等. 约翰 ·, Jr。, 主持品酒的圣华章的 [加利福尼亚大学戴维斯分校] 农学院毕业生校友会, 他的一个成员. 酒厂还主办了品尝为该地区的杏仁花节. 另一个时间, 潮水南部铁路和齐联手打造一次短途旅行从奥克兰到齐兄弟酒庄品酒的事件. 该事件是非常成功的, 和党没有回到奥克兰直到后 10 下午. 那天晚上.

The Franzia Wine Family

Next

next

1970-1973

Although the Franzia brothers achieved marked success for an era of limited education, the Great Dep

next

Next

prev

Previous

1936-1960

To enrich the alcohol content of their fortified wines, the Franzias installed a distillery in their

prev

prev

  • Franzia Brothers

During the mid-1960’s, the Franzia grape fields, along with Ernest and Julio Gallo’s, were picketed by the United Farm Workers under Cesar Chavez. Chavez orchestrated a national grape boycott that affected the American wine industry negatively, but the Franzias survived the long siege. In 1964 Franzia Brothers began making champagne. At some point they added vermouth to their line of production. By 1968, the company was the sixth-largest producer of wine in the United States. In 1970 the brothers began brandy production as well.

Working at the winery were several of the Franzia grandsons. Charles Franzia, son of Frank, was in charge of the truck fleet and deliveries; he also worked in the warehouse. His brother Frank, Jr., who attended the University of California at Davis awhile, worked in sales; he was in charge of the tasting room. Louis Franzia, son of Louie, was in charge of the bottling department. His brother, Ernest Franzia, worked at making brandy; he did not work very long at the winery. John’s son, John, Jr., who graduated from the University of California at Davis, began working at wine-making in 1960. Joseph S. Franzia and his brother, Fred T. Franzia, sons of Joseph J. Franzia and graduates of the Bellarmine Preparatory School and the University of Santa Clara, worked at sales, Fred eventually managing all sales. Louie Franzia’s son-in-law, Joe Reichsmuth, married to Dorothy Franzia, worked in the shop at Franzia Brothers; Joe would later work for the younger Franzias’ Bronco Wine Company.

By October of 1969, the company owned 1,500 acres of wine grapes and employed between 100 and 200 Mexican nationals under the Bracero Program in the vineyards. The tonnage from their vineyards produced only one sixth of the grapes that the family processed into wine annually. Their own vineyards consisted of Palomino, Thompson seedless, Grenache, Valda, and Carignane grapes. The Franzias distributed their own wines with their fleet of 12 trucks. They employed 50 people all year at the winery and up to 75 people during the busy time of year. They made 16 million gallons of wine per year at the end. The expanded winery building had a storage capacity of 3,000,000 gallons. In 1969 the company built a tasting room that would host numerous events.

The winery tried to be active in the civic and social life of San Joaquin County. Joseph S. Franzia, after serving in the U.S. Marine Corps. in Vietnam, headed a mobile wine-tasting unit that worked such events as boat-excursions; agricultural teachers’ “Ladies Night,” etc. John, Jr., hosted a wine-tasting of the San Joaquin Chapter of the [University of California at Davis] Aggie Alumni Association, of which he was a member. The winery also hosted a tasting for the area’s Almond Blossom Festival. Another time, the Tidewater Southern Railway and Franzia teamed up to create an excursion from Oakland to the Franzia Brothers Winery for a wine-tasting event. The event was very successful, and the partiers didn’t get back to Oakland until after 10 p.m. that night.