齐酒家庭

下一个

下一个

1970-1973

虽然齐兄弟时代的有限的教育取得了显著的成绩, 大 Dep

下一个

下一个

上一页

上一页

1960-1970

在 1960 年中期期间, 齐葡萄字段, 欧内斯特和胡利奥 · 盖洛, 都来接他留下

上一页

上一页

  • Bronco Wine Company Vineyard

虽然齐兄弟时代的有限的教育取得了显著的成绩, 大萧条, 和世界第二次世界大战, 尚缺乏渗透阻止它在 1970 年代成功竞争的公司愿景. 一个齐齐兄弟称为"变形虫,"扩大没有方向, 但五齐兄弟取得远远超过同龄人的那一代人. 他们提供底座高从中启动的下一代.

在 1970 年代齐兄弟被老化. 年轻一代的 Franizas, 弗兰克 · 齐, Jr。, 称为"弗兰基,"欧内斯特 · 齐, 而查尔斯 · 齐已经离开齐兄弟酒公司. 三兄弟, 弗兰克, 路易, 和萨尔, 想要退休了,卖掉他们在 6.5 百万美元公司利益. 一段时间一直有一些不和谐. 在 6 月的 1971, 他们 60% 利益被卖给了丹拉夫金, 主任在纽约证交所; 和路易斯 · 马克思, 马克思玩具公司的老板. 该公司的股票被放置在纽约证交所, 和纽约可口可乐, 在秋天 1973, 购买所有齐兄弟酒公司. 保留了约翰和乔其 40% 因为他们有兴趣继续在葡萄酒行业的儿子感兴趣. 然而, 经营与少控制的兴趣,为他们创建的问题; 所以他们, 太, 出售他们的利益 — — 可口可乐, 它还拥有大卫之星酒公司. 每当任何家族企业达到它的末端, 通常有一些家庭的成员有家族企业仍然在他们的血液. 所以它是 Franzias 向可口可乐公司出售齐兄弟酒厂 1973. 当决定要卖掉最后的家庭的股票, 约瑟夫 · S. 齐和弗雷德 T. 齐 [约瑟夫 · J 的儿子. 齐] 和他们的嫡亲堂妹, 约翰 · 齐, Jr。, 决定开始自己的酒厂.

他们把他们的辞呈给约瑟夫 · 齐, 高级. 自齐被卖了与他们父辈的公司的名称, 年轻的 Franzias 不能使用他们自己的名字为他们的业务. 12 日 25, 1973, 这三个领域的纳入文件. 他们命名自己的酒厂野马葡萄酒公司,购买了八十英亩附近谷神星, 在斯坦尼斯劳斯县, 加利福尼亚州, 作为酿酒厂网站. 野马以来已经成为美国的第四大酒厂. 它拥有超过 35,000 英亩的葡萄园,具有储存和生产设施在谷神星, 纳帕谷, 索诺玛谷, 埃斯卡隆和马德拉. 它有能力生产 61 万加仑的酒每年. [在齐兄弟酒公司, 最大的生产是 16 每年百万加仑。] 第四代 Franzias 也为酒厂工作. 家庭看来有望与葡萄酒行业几十年来关联. 这个故事在葡萄酒行业当前的 Franzias 是专留给未来的历史学家.

The Franzia Wine Family

Next

next

1970-1973

Although the Franzia brothers achieved marked success for an era of limited education, the Great Dep

next

Next

prev

Previous

1960-1970

During the mid-1960’s, the Franzia grape fields, along with Ernest and Julio Gallo’s, were picke

prev

prev

  • Bronco Wine Company Vineyard

Although the Franzia brothers achieved marked success for an era of limited education, the Great Depression, and World War II, there was a lack a vision that permeated the company that prevented it from competing successfully in the 1970’s. One Franzia described Franzia Brothers as an “amoeba,” expanding without direction, but the five Franzia brothers had achieved far more than their peers of that generation. They provided a high pedestal from which to launch the next generation.

In the 1970’s the Franzia brothers were aging. Of the younger generation of Franizas, Frank Franzia, Jr., known as “Frankie,” Ernest Franzia, and Charles Franzia had already left Franzia Brothers Wine Copany. Three of the brothers, Frank, Louie, and Sal, wanted to retire and sell their interests in the 6.5-million-dollar company. There had been some discord for awhile. In June of 1971, their 60% interest was sold to Dan Lufkin, a director on the New York Stock Exchange; and Louis Marx, owner of the Marx Toy Company. The company’s stock was placed on the New York Stock Exchange, and Coca Cola of New York, in the fall of 1973, purchased all of Franzia Brothers Wine Company. John and Joe had retained their 40% interest because they had sons interested in continuing in the wine industry. However, operating with less-than-controlling interest created problems for them; so they, too, sold their interests—to Coca Cola, which also owned Mogen David Wine Company. Whenever any family corporation reaches its end, there are usually some family members who still have the family business in their blood. So it was when the Franzias sold Franzia Brothers Winery to Coca Cola in 1973. When the decision was made to sell the last of the family stock, Joseph S. Franzia and Fred T. Franzia [sons of Joseph J. Franzia] and their first cousin, John Franzia, Jr., decided to start a winery of their own.

They turned in their resignations to Joseph Franzia, Senior. Since the name Franzia was sold with their fathers’ company, the younger Franzias could not use their own name for their business. On December 25, 1973, the three filed incorporation papers. They named their winery The Bronco Wine Company and purchased eighty acres near Ceres, in Stanislaus County, California, as the winery site. Bronco has since grown to become the fourth largest winery in the United States. It owns over 35,000 acres of vineyards and has storage and production facilities in Ceres, Napa Valley, Sonoma Valley, Escalon and Madera. It has the capacity to produce 61 million gallons of wine annually. [In the Franzia Brothers Wine Company, the maximum production was about 16 million gallons annually.] Fourth-generation Franzias also work for the winery. The family appears poised to be associated with the wine industry for decades to come. The story of the current Franzias in the wine industry is left for future historians.